American Bar Association American Bar Association
header

 
Same-Sex Marriage, Civil Unions, and Domestic Partnerships: Benefits Plan Design and Litigation Issues

ABA JOINT COMMITTEE ON EMPLOYEE BENEFITS  • DATE: March 14, 2012
SPONSORS: The Sections of Business Law; Health Law; Labor and Employment Law; Real Property, Trust and Estate Law; Taxation; Tort Trial and Insurance Practice; and the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

Program Information

Untitled Document

A 90-minute TeleConference
WEDNESDAY, MARCH 14, 2012

1:00-2:30 pm ET / 12:00-1:30 pm CT / 11:00 am-12:30 pm MT / 10:00 am-11:30 am PT Moderator:
Denise M. Clark
, Clark Law Group, PLLC, Washington, DC

Speakers:
Howard Bye-Torre, Stoel Rives LLP, Seattle, WA
Ronald Triche, Trucker Huss APC, San Francisco, CA
Nina Wasow, Lewis, Feinberg, Lee, Renaker & Jackson, PC, Oakland, CA

Civil marriage, civil unions, and other forms of state relationship recognition for same-sex couples pose significant challenges for ERISA plans and plan participants, particularly in navigating the conflicts between state and federal law – including the controversial Defense of Marriage Act – and what rights are available under ERISA and the Internal Revenue Code, if any. The panel will discuss the following topics:

  • State-mandated benefits, imputed income, and other issues for health and welfare plans
  • QDROs, QJSAs, QPSAs, and other pension plan issues
  • Impact of state community property law on welfare and pension plans
  • Litigation pitfalls in participant communications and benefits claims

   
Same-Sex Marriage, Civil Unions, and Domestic Partnerships: Benefits Plan Design & Litigation Issues
General Information
Program Registration
Tuition
MCLE
Policies and Procedures
Government Q&As
Contact JCEB
Attendee Area